### **JOURNAL 1918**

### **NEW CHURCH START**

### Memphis District

(?) "The name City Mission ,which stood for Kentucky Street, will disappear." I am presuming that the name change reflects an official chartering of the congregation.

### Name Change

### Memphis District

Sylvan Heights to Chelsea Avenue Lenox to Union Avenue Germantown to Nashoba

### Paducah District

(?) "The name of City Mission, Paducah, is changeed to Guthrie Avenue and Tyler." This is probably just a name change for the charge and not the churches, but I list it anyway."

# Changes in District and Charge Lines

### DISTRICT LINE CHANGES.

Take Berkley from Columbus Circuit, Union City District and attach to Arlington Station, Paducah District.

### CHARGE LINE CHANGES.

### BROWNSVILLE DISTRICT.

Bethlehem from Stanton and Bethlehem to the Belmont Circuit. Center and Cross Roads from the Alamo Circuit to Crockett Mills Circuit. Pond Creek from Crockett Mills Circuit to Alamo Circuit. Mason from Belmont Circuit to Stanton to form Stanton and Mason.

DYERSBURG DISTRICT.

No changes.

JACKSON DISTRICT.

No changes.

LEXINGTON DISTRICT.

Shiloh Church from Holladay Circuit to the Eva Circuit.

#### MEMPHIS DISTRICT.

The name of Sylvan Heights changed to Chelsea Avenue and attached to Second Church to form Second Church and Chelsea Avenue.

The name of Lenox changed to Union Avenue.

Greenland Heights attached to Vernon Memorial and the appointment to read Vernon Memorial and Greenland Heights.

Kentucky Street is taken from Vernon Memorial and Kentucky Street and attached to Pepper Memorial, the appointment to read Pepper Memorial and Ken-

The name City Mission, which stood for Kentucky Street, will disappear.

Longstreet and Capleville is to read Longstreet, Capleville, and Bethlehem. Name of Germantown changed to Neshoba, the appointment to read Neshoba and Rossville.

#### PADUCAH DISTRICT.

The name of Briensburg Circuit is changed to Birmingham Circuit. The name of City Mission, Paducah, is changed to Guthrie Avenue and Tyler. Briensburg is taken from Briensburg or Birmingham Circuit and attached to Gilbertsville is taken from Calvert City Circuit and attached to Birmingham

To Arlington Station add Berkley, received from Columbus Circuit, Union City

#### PARIS DISTRICT.

North Murray Circuit is discontinued, Independence, Pottertown, and Russell's Chapel going to East Murray Circuit and Brook's Chapel to the Hardin Circuit. Cole's Camp Ground from East Murray Circuit to West Murray Circuit. Mt. Pleasant from Hazel Circuit to Puryear Circuit.

#### UNION CITY DISTRICT.

Beech Grove from Sharon and Mt. Vernon to Martin Circuit. Crutchfield from Cayce Circuit to Columbus Circuit. Berkley from Columbus Circuit to the Paducah District and attached to Arlington Station.

## JOURNAL 1917

Brownsville District Holly Springs (Gibson County), added to Trenton Circuit

### CHANGES IN DISTRICTS AND CHARGE LINES

#### DISTRICT LINE CHANGES.

Hickory Flat from the Lavinia Circuit, Jackson District, to Lexington Circuit, Lexington District.

Lavinia and Lessenberry from the Lavinia Circuit, Jackson District, to the Milan Circuit, Brownsville District.

Cedar Grove from the Atwood Circuit, Paris District, to the Lexington Circuit, Lexington District.

Harmon's Creek, Chestnut Hill from the Big Sandy Circuit, Paris District, to the Eva Circuit, Lexington District.

Flatwoods and Rushing's Chapel from the Big Sandy Circuit, Paris District, to Camden Circuit, Lexington District.

Sulphur Creek from the Faxon Circuit, Paris District, to the Eva Circuit, Lexington District.

Chapel Hill from the Hollow Rock Circuit, Lexington District, to the McKenzie Circuit, Paris District.

Dresden Circuit as a whole, from the Union City District, to the Paris District. Lynnville from the Water Valley Circuit, Union City District, to the Sedalia Circuit, Paducah District.

Pleasant Valley from the Wingo Circuit, Paducah District, to the Water Valley Circuit, Union City District.

#### CHARGE LINE CHANGES.

#### BROWNSVILLE DISTRICT.

Lavinia and Lessenberry from the Lavinia Circuit, Jackson District, to the Milan Circuit.

Moore's Chapel from Milan Circuit to Trenton Circuit. Oak Grove from Brazil Circuit to Trenton Circuit.

Olive Branch from Trenton Circuit to Brazil Circuit. Riverside from Dyer Station to Brazil Circuit. Stanton from Arlington and Stanton to Stanton. Bethlehem from Belmont Circuit to Stanton. Braden Circuit dissolved. Braden and Galloway from Braden Circuit to Arlington. Macedonia from Braden Circuit to Clopton Station. Mason added to the Belmont Circuit. Chamber's Chapel and Eads from Bolton Circuit to Arlington. Holly Springs, a new church, added to Trenton Circuit. Pond Creek from Alamo Circuit to Crockett Mills Circuit. Cross Roads from Crockett Mills Circuit to Alamo Circuit.

#### JACKSON DISTRICT.

Lavinia Circuit dissolved and the five churches disposed of as follows: Hope Hill goes to Medina and Zion. Lebanon goes to Bethany Circuit. Lavinia and Lessenberry to Milan Circuit, Brownsville District. Hickory Flat to Lexington Circuit, Lexington District.

#### LEXINGTON DISTRICT.

Chestnut Hill, Harmon's Creek and Sulphur Creek from the Paris District to help form Eva Circuit.

Morris Chapel, Bethlehem and Eva from the Camden Circuit, with the three above named, to form the Eva Circuit.

Flatwoods and Rushing's Chapel from Big Sandy Circuit, Paris District, to Camden Circuit.

Hickory Flat from Lavinia Circuit, Jackson District and Cedar Grove, Atwood Circuit, Paris District, to the Lexington Circuit. New Hope from Lexington Circuit to Scott's Hill Circuit.

Liberty from Scott's Hill Circuit to Bath Springs Circuit. New Friendship from Hollow Rock Circuit to Wildersville Circuit. Chapel Hill from Hollow Rock Circuit goes to McKenzie Circuit, Paris District.

#### MEMPHIS DISTRICT.

Mullins from Germantown and Rossville to Binghamton to form Binghamton and Mullins.

Highland Heights from Binghamton and Highland Heights to Springdale to form Springdale and Highland Heights. Sylvan Heights from Springdale and Sylvan Heights to form a separate charge.

#### PADUCAH DISTRICT.

Gilbertsville from the Briensburg Circuit to Calvert City Circuit. Maple Springs from Benton and Maple Springs to Briensburg Circuit. Pryorsburg from the Sedalia Circuit to the Wingo Circuit. Church Grove from Benton and Maple Springs to Oak Level Circuit.
Pleasant Valley from the Wingo Circuit to Water Valley Circuit, Union City District.

#### PARIS DISTRICT.

Farmington Circuit dissolved and the churches disposed of as follows: Farmington church to Kirksey Circuit; Story's Chapel to Hazel Circuit; Boydsville to Cottage Grove Circuit; Mt. Vernon to Dresden Circuit.

Mt. Hermon from Dresden Circuit to Gleason Circuit. Seminary from McKenzie Circuit to Gleason Circuit.

Chapel Hill from Hollow Rock Circuit, Lexington District, to McKenzie Circuit Faxon Circuit dissolved and the churches disposed of as follows: Faxon, New Hope, Crooked Creek and Lick Creek go to Big Sandy Circuit. These, together with Big Sandy, Baker's Chapel and Luterton, compose the present Big Sandy

Sulphur Creek, Faxon Circuit, to Eva Circuit, Lexington District. Antioch from Puryear Circuit to Manleyville Circuit.

# JOURNAL 1916 and before

The changes in District and Charge Lines in the Journal ceases with that of 1917. I have read the Journals back to 1908 to determine if anything in the Daily Minutes or the Reports gives information on new church-strats, discontinuance, name change, etc., but have found nothing.